New names for three New Brunswick RCMP detachments

September 23, 2020
Fredericton, New Brunswick

News release

Three RCMP detachments in New Brunswick are receiving new names. As of today, the following changes are being implemented:

"In most cases, RCMP detachments in New Brunswick are named for the community where they are located," says Cpl. Jullie Rogers-Marsh of the New Brunswick RCMP. "This can be confusing in some instances though – for example, Woodstock and Bathurst have municipal police forces, and the town of Riverview is part of the Codiac Regional Policing Authority. The new names will reduce confusion and better reflect the areas we serve."

The communities and residents currently served by these detachments will still receive the policing services from the same offices, the delivery of services is not changing. The phone numbers for the detachments will also remain the same.

The new names will be applied going forward to public documents, such as news releases and the Daily Occurrence Reports.


Contact information

Cpl. Jullie Rogers-Marsh
New Brunswick RCMP

Date modified: