About the RCMP in Ontario

Our motto "Maintiens le droit"

The adoption of a French motto, "Maintiens le droit" (defending the law), gave the badge a bilingual character from the very beginning. The exact origin of this motto, however, is not known. At first, the word "Maintiens" was spelled without the "s."

RCMP O Division has primary authority in federal law enforcement in Ontario.

Under the authority of the RCMP Act and RCMP Regulations (2014), the Federal Policing mandate is multi-faceted with law enforcement authorities provided under more than 260 Acts.

The broad Federal Policing mandate is to:

  • Enforce federal laws, secure Canada’s borders between ports of entry, collect criminal intelligence, and ensure the safety of critical infrastructure, internationally protected persons and other designated persons;
  • Investigate serious and organized crime, financial crime and criminal activity related to national security;
  • Conduct international law enforcement capacity-building, support Canadian international peace operations and advance domestic police operations through enhanced visibility, reach and influence abroad.

O Division resources are optimally placed for successful and efficient delivery of our operations and services, which are categorized into five distinct areas: Financial Crime, Serious and Organized Crime, Cybercrime, National Security, and Protective Policing.

Want to know more about our O Division Federal Policing Services?
Federal Policing Services

Our employees

The Commanding Officer, senior executive, administrative and support services for RCMP O Division operate from headquarters located in London, Ontario.

O Division has a total of 1,506 full-time employees represented by 1,083 regular members (Police), 137 civilian members (CMs) and 286 public service employees (PSEs).

For information about becoming an RCMP officer visit our Careers page.

Our civilian staff include support professionals, such as intelligence analysts, forensic specialists, information technology specialists, and other professionals. Visit Civilian Employee Careers page for more information.

Need to contact a detachment located in Ontario?
O Division detachments

Early history

Post Office Building, 6 Charles St. E.
RCMP Offices, Floors 2 and 3
O Division HQ, 1921-1936

O Division came into existence in 1920 when the Force, which had the title “Royal North West Mounted Police” conferred on it by King Edward VII in 1904, was reorganized into Canada’s federal police force as the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The division covered Ontario west of a line between Haileybury in the north and Belleville in the south and consisted of six detachments located at such strategic points as Haileybury, Sault Ste. Marie, Niagara Falls, Windsor, Bridgeburg (now part of Fort Erie) and Sarnia, with a headquarters established in Toronto.


Date modified: