About the RCMP in Prince Edward Island

The RCMP is responsible for policing all communities on the Island except Charlottetown, Summerside, and Kensington. It is our privilege to have been the provincial police service since 1932, and today, be responsible for policing nearly 90,000 of the Island's 140,000 permanent residents, encompassing approximately 95% of the land mass. We also provide federal policing services to all Island citizens.

Community policing services are provided from a Headquarters facility at Charlottetown and three operational districts - Kings, Queens and Prince - through six service centres. Our personnel are committed to the well being of the people of Prince Edward Island, and take great pride in being active citizens of their communities.

Through innovative and collaborative programs, strong partnerships with communities and stakeholders, and committed employees, citizen satisfaction levels with police services have been rated the best in the country. This is a tribute to the dedication and commitment of the almost 200 regular members, civilian members and public service employees of "L" Division who strive to ensure a safe and secure environment for residents, and visitors alike.

Date modified: